By on October 20, 2014

GM Senior Vice President and General Counsel Michael P. Millikin

Come next year, General Motors will have a new general counsel, as Michael Millikin has decided to call it a day.

Millikin had come under fire as recently as this summer, when Congress took CEO Mary Barra to task for not firing him for his part of the February 2014 ignition switch recall, especially when five company lawyers under him were given the axe — a result of the publication of the Valukas report — but not he. Barra had this to say about him:

Mike has had a tremendous career, spanning more than 40 years, with the vast majority of it at GM. He has led global legal teams through incredibly complex transactions, been a trusted and respected confidant to senior management, and even led the company’s global business response team following the tragedy of 9/11.

Millikin served as GM’s general counsel since 2009, and has been with the automaker since 1977, when he was brought in from his previous role as an assistant attorney in the U.S. District Attorney’s Office in Detroit. He will remain in his position until the transition period for the new GC is complete.

GM has already begun an external search for his replacement.

Get the latest TTAC e-Newsletter!


8 Comments on “GM General Counsel Retiring Early 2015...”

Read all comments

Back to TopLeave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Recent Comments

  • bryanska: The bottom half is missing. It’s jarring.
  • ToddAtlasF1: What you’re attributing to unions, I attribute to industrialization. Industrialization increased...
  • highdesertcat: Arthur Dailey, I understand that a new revisionist history is being taught in America these days,...
  • ToddAtlasF1: Trans Am, which translates as across America. It was a racing series for cars with back seats and also a...
  • ToddAtlasF1: @ThomasSchiffer, I have seen what you’re talking about. I used to have a commute on the I15 in...

New Car Research

Get a Free Dealer Quote


  • Contributors

  • Timothy Cain, Canada
  • Matthew Guy, Canada
  • Ronnie Schreiber, United States
  • Bozi Tatarevic, United States
  • Chris Tonn, United States
  • Corey Lewis, United States
  • Mark Baruth, United States