By on October 14, 2014


The European Union is withdrawing a mandated quota of EV and hydrogen refueling stations that are to be installed in member states by 2020. Instead, the governing body is asking each member install an “appropriate number” of publically accessible EV stations by the start of the new decade, with hydrogen due by 2025 for those who choose to develop the resource.

Auto Express reports the United Kingdom — as one example — would have fallen 64,000 units short of 122,000 units by 2020, but can now focus instead on its own £9 million ($14.4 million USD) infrastructure program, which will put over 200 electric stations online by the end of this year.

Meanwhile, campaign group Transport & Environment clean vehicles manager Greg Archer lamented the change in the mandate, placing the blame on the member states who “could not accept binding committments for low-carbon charging infrastructure”:

Europe can and should do better and initiate a comprehensive strategy on e-mobility. This continent needs to join the race for clean innovation, cut its €300 billion oil import bill and reduce CO2 emissions as soon as possible.

The Clean Power for Transport mandate will go into effect by the end of October.

Get the latest TTAC e-Newsletter!

No Comments on “EU Withdraws 2020 Electric, Hydrogen Infrastructure Quota...”

Back to TopLeave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Recent Comments

  • sayahh: I don’t like how Mitsu and Chevy reused the Eclipse and Trailblazer names, respectively. I, however,...
  • sayahh: So are you in the “the modern Dodge Charger doesn’t have two-doors like the General Lee, so it...
  • Lou_BC: That is very true. People complain about lost jobs but then trundle off to Walmart for cheap chinesium and a...
  • Lou_BC: @Aurtur – yup. Bring in the “temps”. Saputo dairy was busted for bringing in Mexicans and...
  • Lou_BC: (Now)Billionaire Jimmy Pattison when he owned a Chevy dealership would fire the lowest selling salesman every...

New Car Research

Get a Free Dealer Quote

Who We Are

  • Adam Tonge
  • Bozi Tatarevic
  • Corey Lewis
  • Mark Baruth
  • Ronnie Schreiber